Travel time

The amount of time it takes to fly to Australia from Newark (EWR): approx. 21 hours, in the air.

The amount of time it takes to fly to Australia from EWR with 2 toddlers:  anywhere from 21 hours to an entire lifetime.

I am nervous.  Only 1 connection but still nervous.  The kids need to sleep on the second, longer leg from LAX to Melbourne.  Colin has his own seat but he, a belly sleeper, likes his space.  We’ve driven through the night from Jersey to Michigan but this is different.  Colin’s car seat is huge and I doubt it would give him any leg room in coach (yes, I said coach) or allow the passenger in front in him to have any peace.  Then I found this:

A 5 point harness that straps onto airplane seats – voila!  http://www.kidsflysafe.com .  I only wish I had discovered this a year ago.  Now I can velcro those infant headrests on the shoulder straps, recline the seat and hope for the best.  Maybe mom and dad can get some shut-eye.

Next, where am I going to fit Colin’s life-size koala (how could I miss that foreshadowing of events?) that he sleeps with each and every night in our carry on?  A 5 point harness for lovies is needed.

Aside | This entry was posted in Airplane travel, Children, Travel with children and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel time

  1. Dayna Chu says:

    Okay, I’m a year late, but did you like the C.A.R.E.S? Or should I say, did the kids like them? I found you through Jenn @ BeaversToKangaroos; I will be moving to Melbourne in 3 months with my husband and 4 kids (they will be 5, 3, and twins @ 1). I’m having anxiety attacks thinking about the flight! Looking forward to diving deeper into your blog, albeit a year behind… 🙂

    • Megan says:

      Thanks for finding me! I’m feeling your pain. We continue to use our airplane seatbelt for my 2 1/2 year old. My 4 1/2 year old didn’t need one. I love it – it helps to equate the ride with a regular car ride and you can use those kids neck pillows that attach to car seat belts. However, the kids also slept on our laps too. My best tip: fly first class.;)
      I hope you keep reading! So many people have contacted me after my return and I’m constantly sending them links to the blog. I need to create a couple of additional pages for informative lists etc. Much luck on your trip and I hope you love Australia as much as we did.

    • Megan says:

      Also, Jetstar would not permit me to use the belt in Australia. All other airlines permitted it without a problem.

Leave a Reply

