You’re Welcome, President Obama

We tried to give the 4th of July its justice. 

  • Daddy and daughter saw a summer movie, Cars 2, even though it’s barely 50 degrees outside and raining. 
  • We created a BBQ indoors by making pulled pork in the oven, even though my inquisitive Australian butcher did not offer pork shoulder/butt and even though I had a British BBQ sauce. (Sacrilege, yes, I know.)
  • We played family lawn games even though we played “footy”, stayed inside and nearly broke a light fixture.

It was a sad attempt and I admit I wasn’t ready.  I didn’t see it coming.  While looking up the American consulate to see if there was something to make me feel like part of a community, I stumbled upon this video and transcript wishing a happy 4th of July to those who are working and living abroad. 

Me, an ambassador?  You, fellow expats, the backbone of foreign policy?  Are Hillary Clinton and President Obama talking to us?  Yes!  Well, in any case, you’re welcome, President Obama.

You are welcome.

This entry was posted in American Expat in Australia, Holidays, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You’re Welcome, President Obama

  1. Laura says:

    Thanks for sharing the video! And I loved your “4th” posts. I am working on ours today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

