Giving Thanks and Going Home

Thanksgiving has come and gone. 

Thanksgiving came and went without a whole turkey (I roasted a $65 turkey breast from our local butcher over the weekend), without family football, without stuffing, without pumpkin pie, without a parade and almost without turkey-hand tracings.  The funny thing is that instead of missing the whole to-do I’m not sure if I really missed anything.

Life without Thanksgiving is just life.  No one worries about what to cook, about who is going to show up or about which platter to use for the sliced turkey.  Popular culture and Williams Sonoma don’t dictate what it should or should not look like at a traditional or non-traditional Thanksgiving meal.  However, Thanksgiving is part of Americana and that’s the part I miss.

It won’t be long before we get to experience our Americana again.  Our time in Australia is coming to an abrupt close.  In 2 weeks my husband rolls off his case and we return stateside (but not before a mini-holiday on the south island of New Zealand.)

There will be much to blog about in the coming weeks; what we will miss, our don’t miss Australia to-do’s, what we look forward to, our last minute adventures and our fears returning home (plus all those posts built up in my queue.)  To all those bloggers out there I’ve come to read, follow, like and comment I send my thanks for giving me a new place to explore and be myself.

Through my expat experience I’ve learned an incredible amount about myself, the people who surround me and what I want to be.  It only took me 33 years… 10 months of which I spent living in Australia.

This entry was posted in American Expat in Australia, Holidays, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Giving Thanks and Going Home

  1. dsduffy says:

    Megan- how nice that you will be home for Christmas! Has it really only been 10 months that you were here? I’m glad that I got to know you, and the funny thing is that we will probably see each other again since we have family in your neck of the woods! If we don’t see you before you leave, have a fantastic time in NZ (we are planning to go there in Jan possibly!)
    I hope you bring a little bit of OZ back to the US, even if it’s just a few phrases 🙂
    I look forward to hearing about your “re-entry” back to the States!
    xo

    • Megan says:

      It’s funny. I feel as if life in the northern hemisphere should have paused when I left and it will be march again when I return – just in time for summer but alas, no. I’m bringing back “keen” – love that one.

      Megan

  2. Gabi says:

    Gotta say…Thanksgiving is a favorite holiday. No presents, expectations, just family, food and fun.

Leave a Reply

