Our Final Aussie Days

Donning heavy coats and gloves before going out has me reminiscing our final days in Australia. 

We took our final trip down the Mornington Peninsula.  Alone on gorgeous beaches in Portsea (barely warm enough for swimsuits) we took our last steps in rock pools and shallow bays.

We wished we had discovered The Portsea Hotel earlier.  With great bay views, grassy area for kids to run around and local beers and wines it was a perfect place to unwind after a day at the beach on the peninsula.

I might have visited my favorite cafe too many times.  My favorite cafe in Melbourne is… (drumroll please) Nineteen Squares in St. Kilda.  I can’t be the only one who thinks their flat whites are fabulous as they are expanding. 

The kids finally dragged me to the St. Kilda Adventure Playground.  This is a great place for older children.  My 2 year old had trouble getting his footing but bounced forever on the trampolines.

 

Our final brekkie at Jerry’s in Elwood was bittersweet.  I’m going to miss my poached eggs and chai latte.  My daughter, Claire, will miss the best pancakes in Melbourne.  Colin will miss the “choo-choo” in the kids’ play area but will not miss fighting off other children to play with it.

 

We said our goodbyes.  I met a lot of women who live the same daily life as myself.  Their partners/husbands work 80 hour weeks and travel.  We were there for each other.  The only things I left them was an email, facebook page and extra children’s items we didn’t pack for America.  I hope to see them again someday.

Claire and her bestie said goodbye.  She misses her and mentioned her just as she went down to sleep this evening.  Post is being imagined and created as we speak.  Claire also graduated from her yabbie swim class and became a turtle 3 days before we boarded a plane.  My daughter learned to swim in Australia.

 Oh, and yes, I look back to 2 weeks ago, wearing shorts and t-shirts and spreading my toes in the sand.  Now, I am ordering a winter coat for my son, fitting my daughter into last year’s coat and searching for my knit hat. 

Our final Aussie days were appropriately warm, sunny and unforgettable.

This entry was posted in American Expat in Australia, Beach, Children, Food and Wine, Melbourne, Mornington Peninsula and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Final Aussie Days

  1. dsduffy says:

    So bittersweet! I bet you are happy to be home for Christmas with loved ones!
    I imagine I will do similar things as you, when we are set to leave (unknown when, but I have a feeling it will be in less than 12 months!) So many great experiences you had, and in such a short time, very impressive 🙂 Happy Holidays to you and your family xo

  2. Kristi says:

    that’s it, your gone already. so quick. i hope your return home has been a welcoming one and a bit of this australian living lives within. x

Leave a comment